My Journey with Food…

Good day to you all!

I want to share how this “blog” came to be and how my journey with food began.  In 2010, I was bored with food, always grabbing something on the go.  I wanted to experiment with food.  So being the animal lover that I am, I became a vegetarian.  It was great fun for awhile.  I learned how to make all different types of salads…and..uhh…yeah…let’s face it.  I became a connoisseur for Italian dishes full of carb loaded pastas and cheeses, and lets not forget endless creative ways for incorporating peanut butter in every meal.  Over time, I realized that my blood sugar would spike throughout crucial times during the day.  I frequently suffered from “foggy brain,” and I was relying on caffeine to get me through the day.  Physiologically, I was not in the best of shape.

In 2013, I started working out in a functional fitness gym (LT’s Primal Fitness).  I learned about the Paleo diet (raw foods, caveman diet).  I had my doubts about it, especially not eating beans.  How crazy is that?!  I met a few key individuals that shared recipes and ideas with me as a friendly gesture, nothing that would commit me to a life without ice cream and beer.

During Lent in 2014, I decided to try the Paleo diet just to see if I could do it.  This decision meant I would have to reintroduce meat proteins back into my diet.  I would also need to research, Pinterest, and establish new eating habits.  My body was ready for a change, so I attacked the decision with full force.  Over several months, I struggled to plan meals, find odd ingredients at health food stores, and establish a new relationship with the neckless chicken sitting on my dinner table.  No matter how difficult, I begin to notice changes in my body.  My episodes of “foggy brain” were becoming less frequent, my energy level was higher, and my cravings for processed foods less and less.

From that experience, I chose to take my relationship with food to the next level.  Over the course of 2015-2016, I participated in the Whole30 cleanse with friends (Whole30) 3 separate times.  My results increased exponentially!  I experienced healthier nails, hair, and skin, greater mental clarity, no episodes of “foggy brain”, the same energy level from 6am to 10pm, solid 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep, regular and more predictable menstrual cycles, increased PR’s at the gym and on the trail, less bloated feelings, and the list goes on… More importantly, I established a relationship with food, learning how different foods affect my body.

I studied research and read articles and finally came to terms that WE ARE WHAT WE EAT.

Since my experience, I have become more aware of not only my eating habits but others’ as well.  I feel strongly that our mind and bodies are products of what we put in our mouths each day.  Just as someone shared a recipe with me, I want to do that for others.  It is my hope that by sharing recipes and meal plans with those around me that I can do my part to make the world a healthier place.

Cooking and sharing food with others is a labor of love for me.  Throughout my journey I have come from the “grab and go” mentality to a growing, spiritual relationship with the food I prepare and consume each day.  I share because I want to help loved ones and others reading these posts make avid changes to become their best selves, both inside and out.

I most certainly will participate in a Whole30 program in the future, but I currently follow the 80/20 rule (80% nonprocessed whole foods, 20% not).  Most of the recipes I include will be derived from non-processed whole foods, with the occasional deviation.

From the kitchen to the trail, I hope to share some of my favorite, most trusted recipes to encourage you to make healthier choices everyday!

Cheers!

GA

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

